Wednesday, June 01, 2005

Bethesda Painting Awards

Thanks to the generosity of Bethesda area businesswoman and arts activist Carol Trawick, and the sponsorship of the Bethesda Urban Partnership, our Fraser Gallery of Bethesda presents an exhibition of the eight finalists of the first annual Bethesda Painting Awards.

Opening on Thursday, June 8 through July 6, 2005, the exhibition features works by eight finalists selected by the three independent jurors.

On opening night (Friday, June 10) the jurors will announce a $14,000 Best of Show prize, a $2,000 Second Prize, a $1,000 Third Prize and a $1,000 Young Artist Award.

The competition was juried by Churchill Davenport, Professor of Painting at the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA); Chawky Frenn, an accomplished painter (represented by us) and Assistant Professor of Painting at George Mason University and Dr. Claudia Rousseau, a contemporary art critic and Professor of Art History at the School of Art & Design at Montgomery College. More information on the jurors is online here.

The eight finalists are: John Aquilino, Rockville, MD, David R. Daniels, Silver Spring, MD, Inga McCaslin Frick, Washington, D.C., Joe Kabriel, Annapolis, MD, Catherine Lees, Baltimore, MD, Sue Ousterhout, Chevy Chase, MD, Dominique Samyn-Werbrouck, Alexandria, VA, and Andrew Wodzianski, Washington, D.C. (represented by us). More information on the finalists is online here.

An opening reception, free and open to the public, will be held on Friday, June 10 from 6-9PM as part of the Bethesda Art Walk.