Thursday, May 11, 2017

More Open Studios this Saturday

Hirshhorn Fêtes Five Washington Artists at Spring Gala

On Saturday, May 6, something very rare for a Washington, DC museum happened:
The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden celebrated Washington's world-class community of artists and art enthusiasts with a festive evening gala recognizing prominent D.C.-based contemporary artists and Smithsonian collaborators Sam Gilliam, Linn Meyers, Maggie Michael, Jefferson Pinder and Dan Steinhilber, and marking the final weeks of the groundbreaking exhibition "Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors."
Hosted by Smithsonian Secretary David Skorton, Hirshhorn Board Chair Daniel Sallick, and Hirshhorn Director Melissa Chiu, the evening began with a glamorous cocktail reception amid Yayoi Kusama's dazzling Infinity Mirror Rooms and artist honoree Meyer's 360-degree installation "Our View from Here," followed by an elegant dinner on the Museum's third floor. The late-night party kicked off with decadent desserts and an electrifying light and sound performance work by D.C.-born, L.A.-based The Holladay Brothers, who choreographed the lobby's decor lighting in time to a live musical score.
During the evening, Smithsonian leadership toasted the honorees for their achievements in contemporary art. "As Washington's leading institution of modern and contemporary art, it is a tremendous honor to gather together such exciting creative minds who share our deep commitment to the city's diverse communities," said Chiu. "Since the Hirshhorn's founding more than forty years ago, artists are the foundation and inspiration for all that we do."
The annual event welcomed 350 guests, and raised $700,000 to support the Hirshhorn's future exhibitions and free public programs for all ages. The museum's 2017-18 schedule will feature a diverse group of contemporary artists whose work responds to global conversations in politics, culture and history, including German artist Markus Lüpertz, Swiss artist Nicolas Party, Russian artists Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, and American artists Yoko Ono, Theaster Gates and Mark Bradford.

Gala chairs: Robert and Arlene Kogod; Gala co-chairs: Mary and John Pappajohn; GardaWorld; Museum MACAN, Indonesia.
Attendees included:
Hirshhorn Trustees: Jay and Jill Bernstein; Tamra and Ken Bentsen; Marcus Brauchli and Maggie Farley; Calvin and Jane Lipton Cafritz; Stephan Crétier and Stephany Maillery; Trinh Doan and Michael Jermyn; John and Stephanie Foster; Aimee and Robert Lehrman; Aaron and Barbara Levine; Adam S. Metz and Martha Metz; Elizabeth Miller and Dan Sallick; Juliana Terian.
Notable guests: Ambassador Stuart Bernstein, former Ambassador to Denmark, and Wilma Bernstein; Josh and Lisa Bernstein; Kathleen Biden; Ambassador Herman Cohen, former Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs, and Suzanne Cohen; Marc and Lauren Cohen; Ambassador Frances Cook, former Ambassador to the Sultanate of Oman; Ambassador Robert Gelbardformer Ambassador to Indonesia and Bolivia, and Alene Gelbard; Kate Goodall, S&R Foundation; Marly Graubard, Marie Claire; Larry and Anissa Grossman; Stephanie Hodor, curator; Phillippa Hughes, Pink Line Project; Katty Kay, BBC; Dr. Sachiko Kuno, founder of the S&R Foundation; Sydney Licht, artist; Tom Nides, former Deputy Secretary of State, and Virginia Mosley, CNN; Mono Schwarz-Kogelnik, artist; Virginia Shore, Art in Embassies; Benjamin Sutton, curator; Akio Tagawa; Lauren Wolchik, artist.