Thursday, May 03, 2018

Bethesda Painting Awards finalists selected!

$10,000 to be Awarded to Best in Show

Eight painters have been selected as finalists for the Bethesda Painting Awards, a juried competition and exhibition produced by the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District. Nearly 300 artists from Maryland, Virginia and Washington, D.C. submitted work to the 14th annual competition created to exclusively honor regional painters. The work of the eight finalists will be on display at Gallery B from June 6-30, 2018.

The top prize winners will be announced and honored on Wednesday, June 6 at 7pm at a private reception held at Gallery B, 7700 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite E. The Best in Show winner will be awarded $10,000, second place will be honored with $2,000 and third place will be awarded $1,000.

The artists selected as finalists are:

Kim Abraham, Alexandria, VA
Sarah Boyts Yoder, Charlottesville, VA
Carolyn Case, Cockeysville, MD
Leigh Anne Chambers, Courtland, VA
Emma Childs, Baltimore, MD
Caleb Kortokrax, Baltimore, MD
Khanh Le, Washington, D.C.
Stephen Towns, Baltimore, MD

A public opening will be held on Friday, June 8, from 6-8pm. Gallery B is located at 7700 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite E in downtown Bethesda. Gallery hours are Wednesday through Saturday from 12-6pm.

The competition jurors are Sally Bowring, Professor of Painting and Director of Administration for the Painting & Printmaking Department, Virginia Commonwealth University; Laura Roulet, independent curator and writer and Bill Schmidt, artist and winner of the 2016 Baker Artist Awards and the 2015 Bethesda Painting Awards.

The Bethesda Painting Awards was established by my good friend and local business owner Carol Trawick in 2005. Ms. Trawick has served as a community activist for more than 25 years in downtown Bethesda and established The Jim and Carol Trawick Foundation in 2007. She is the former Chair of the Maryland State Arts Council, Strathmore, Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District, Bethesda Urban Partnership, Inc. and founder of The Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Art Awards.

For more information, please visit or call 301-215-6660.
Previous Best in Show winners include:
2017 Katherine Tzu-Lan Mann, Washington, D.C.
2016 Tanja Softic, Richmond, VA
2015 Bill Schmidt, Baltimore, MD
2014 Kyle Hackett, Baltimore, MD
2013 Barry Nemett, Stevenson, MD
2012 Ali Miller, Baltimore, MD
2011 Alison Hall, Roanoke, VA
2010 Nora Sturges, Baltimore, MD
2009 Camilo Sanin, Jessup, MD
2008 B.G. Muhn, North Potomac, MD
2007 Matthew Klos, Baltimore, MD
2006 Tony Shore, Baltimore, MD
2005 Joe Kabriel, Annapolis, MD

No comments: